18 November 2016

Evening Standard Brit Film Award Nominees

By otm

Evening Standard British Film Awards – The Longlist

We reveal the talent in the running for this year’s Evening Standard British Film Awards

Contenders: Our awards celebrate the best of British films, actors and actresses 

From Ken Loach’s latest passionate polemic to the feel-good return of Bridget Jones, 2016 has been a mighty year for British film across all genres. As always, London has led the way with its international, outward-looking approach. British talent also dominated Hollywood this year — Benedict Cumberbatch brought magic to the Marvel Universe as Doctor Strange, Mark Rylance joined forces with Steven Spielberg to breathe life into The BFG and Emily Blunt thrilled with her star turn in The Girl on the Train. 

Our longlist for the London Evening Standard British Film Awards, revealed today, captures the unique sensibility of the capital, celebrating its diversity and creativity. 

Films are eligible for consideration if they had a public screening in London between February 7 and October 21. This year’s advisory judging panel comprises Evening Standard film reviewers David Sexton and Charlotte O’Sullivan; Evening Standard film and TV writer Ellen E Jones; Kate Muir, chief film critic for The Times; Peter Bradshaw, Guardian film critic, and Tim Robey of the Daily Telegraph. The panel is chaired by Evening Standard editor Sarah Sands. 

The shortlist will be announced in the paper next Thursday. The three final contenders for the Everyman Award for Best Film will be screened to the public in Everyman cinemas in the last two weeks before all winners are revealed at the ceremony at Claridge’s on December 8. 

The winner of the Editor’s Award in partnership with Claridge’s — a special honour for a cinematic event or person to have grabbed the headlines in the past year — will also be announced on the night.

This year also sees a new audience award for Most Powerful Scene, created by Finch & Partners, where readers can vote online for their favourite film moment from 2016. The 10 scenes to choose from will be published in the Evening Standard tomorrow with details of how to vote. 

Previous winners of our film awards include Daniel Day-Lewis, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Idris Elba, John Hurt, Glenda Jackson, Mike Leigh, Gary Oldman, Kristin Scott Thomas, Tom Stoppard and Kate Winslet.

Latest film reviews

Everyman Award for Best Film 

  • American Honey 
  • Bridget Jones’s Baby
  • Ethel & Ernest
  • I, Daniel Blake
  • Lady Macbeth
  • The Girl with All the Gifts

Best Actor

  • Benedict Cumberbatch, Doctor Strange 
  • Ralph Fiennes, A Bigger Splash 
  • Hugh Grant, Florence Foster Jenkins 
  • Dave Johns, I, Daniel Blake
  • David Oyelowo, Queen of Katwe & A United Kingdom
  • Dev Patel, Lion 
  • Mark Rylance, The BFG
  • Russell Tovey, The Pass

New West End Company Award for Best Actress 

  • Gemma Arterton, Their Finest 
  • Kate Beckinsale, Love & Friendship 
  • Emily Blunt, The Girl on the Train
  • Alexa Davies, Spaceship 
  • Alice Lowe, Prevenge 
  • Helen Mirren, Eye in the Sky
  • Rosamund Pike, A United Kingdom 
  • Tilda Swinton, A Bigger Splash

Best Supporting Actor 

  • Tom Bennett, Love & Friendship
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, Doctor Strange
  • Brendan Gleeson,Trespass Against Us 
  • Arinzé Kene, The Pass 
  • George MacKay, Captain Fantastic

Best Supporting Actress

  • Naomi Ackie, Lady Macbeth
  • Lyndsey Marshal, Trespass Against Us
  • Sarah Solemani, Bridget Jones’s Baby
  • Hayley Squires, I, Daniel Blake 
  • Rachel Weisz, The Light Between Oceans

Best Documentary

  • Bobby Sands: 66 Days
  • Before the Flood 
  • My Scientology Movie 
  • Notes on Blindness
  • Oasis: Supersonic
  • The Hard Stop

Amanda Eliasch Best Screenplay Award 

  • Mike Carey, The Girl with All the Gifts
  • Terence Davies, A Quiet Passion
  • Jane Goldman, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
  • Guy Hibbert, Eye in the Sky
  • Paul Laverty, I, Daniel Blake 
  • David Farr, The Ones Below

Peter Sellers Award for Comedy

  • Julian Barrat, Mindhorn 
  • Bridget Jones’s Baby
  • Bill Nighy, Their Finest
  • David Brent: Life on the Road

Malone Souliers Award for Breakthrough of the Year 

  • Babak Anvari, Under the Shadow 
  • Lewis MacDougall, A Monster Calls
  • William Oldroyd, Lady Macbeth
  • Colm McCarthy, The Girl with All the Gifts 
  • Sennia Nanua, The Girl with All the Gifts 
  • Florence Pugh, Lady Macbeth 

Technical Achievement

  • Consolata Boyle, Florence Foster Jenkins (costume design)
  • Guy Farley and Robin Foste, Anthropoid (music)
  • Max Richter, Arrival (music)
  • Laurie Rose, Free Fire (cinematography)
  • Robbie Ryan, American Honey (cinematography)

The Evening Standard British Film Awards are held in partnership with Claridge’s. #ESFilmAwards

Source: http://www.standard.co.uk/goingout/film/evening-standard-british-film-awards-the-longlist-a3398101.html