9 December 2013

The Selfish Giant, For Those In Peril win at BIFAs

By otm

Metro Manila wins best film at BIFAs

8 December 2013 By Michael Rosser

Other winners included actors James McAvoy and Lindsay Duncan, For Those In Peril director Paul Wright and Blue is the Warmest Colour.


Philippines-set crime thriller Metro Manila has scooped the top prize at the 16th Moet British Independent Film Awards in London, beating box office hit Philomena as well as The Selfish GiantStarred Up and Le Week-end.

Metro Manila led the pack on the night with three wins including Best British Independent Film, Best Director for Sean Ellis and Best Achievement in Production.

The crime drama, shot in the Philippine capital in the Tagalog language with a local cast and crew, debuted at Sundance in January and is the UK’s submission for the Best Foreign-Language Film at the Oscars.

At the glamorous ceremony, hosted for the eighth time by actor James Nesbitt at London’s Old Billingsgate, there were further surprises in the actor categories.

Lindsay Duncan won Best Actress for her portrayal of a frustrated middle-aged academic in Roger Michell’s Le Week-End, beating Judi Dench, Scarlett Johansson, Saoirse Ronan and Felicity Jones.

James McAvoy’s role as a dirty, corrupt cop in Filth won him Best Actor in the face of fierce competition from Jim Broadbent, Steve Coogan, Tom Hardy and Jack O’Connell.

Imogen Poots took home the Best Supporting Actress award for her role as the tragic daughter of Paul Raymond in Michael Winterbottom’s The Look of Love, beating Kristin Scott Thomas, Mia Wasikowska, Shirley Henderson and Siobhan Finneran.

David Mackenzie’s prison drama, Starred Upled the nominations with eight nods but secured just one award as Ben Mendelsohn picked up the Best Supporting Actor prize.

Screen Star of Tomorrow Chloe Pirrie won Most Promising Newcomer for her role in Shell, in which she plays the eponymous young woman who helps run a petrol station with her father in an isolated part of Scotland.

Paul Wright won the Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director for his film For Those in Peril whileSteven Knight picked up the Best Screenplay prize forLocke, which unfolds in real-time, shot entirely in one car, starring Tom Hardy.

Clio Barnard’s The Selfish Giant, nominated in seven categories, took home one for Best Technical Achivement with Amy Hubbard recognised for casting the film.

Best Documentary went to Mike Lerner and Maxim Pozdorovkin’s Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer, adding to an awards haul that includes the special jury prize at Sundance.

After being snubbed at the European Film Awards the previous night, Abdellatif Kechiche’s Cannes-winner Blue is the Warmest Colour picked up Best International Independent Film, beating competition from Blue Jasmine, Frances Ha, The Great Beauty and Wadjda.

As previously announcedJulie Walters was awarded the Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film, and Paul Greengrass the Variety Award, which recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to shine the international spotlight on the UK.

The Special Jury Prize went to Sixteen Films & Friends (aka Team Loach), in recognition of their contribution, bringing the work of Ken Loach to life.

The Raindance Award was won byThe Machine and the Best British Short by Z1.

In a joint statement, BIFAs directors Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson said: “This year our independent jury had an extremely tough job, they were asked to choose from an impressive pool of talent and creativity in a year where the diversity of storytelling is more extreme than ever.

“Thanks to an independent film industry which encompasses so many different cultures, personalities, visions and voices, Britain is producing a new generation of fearless artists both behind and in front of the camera who represent that richness of our diverse British society.

“With so many of the films exploring themes about being less judgmental and more forgiving, this perhaps reflects a movement within British independent filmmaking that brings much hope for the future.”

This year’s jury comprised Penny Woolcock (chair), Antonia Campbell-Hughes, Art Malik, Ate de Jong, Bart Layton, James Floyd, Jill McCullough, Julien Temple, Liza Marshall, MyAnna Buring, Natascha McElhone, Pippa Harris, Roland Gift, Sally El Hosaini, Sandy Powell and Steve Hamilton Shaw.


Best British Independent Film
Sponsored by Moët & Chandon
Metro Manila

Best Director
Sponsored by AllCity & Intermission
Sean Ellis – Metro Manila

The Douglas Hickox Award [Best Debut Director]
Sponsored by 3 Mills Studios
Paul Wright – For Those in Peril

Best Screenplay
Steven Knight – Locke

Best Actress
Sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics
Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-end

Best Actor
Sponsored by BBC Films
James McAvoy – Filth

Best Supporting Actress
Imogen Poots – The Look Of Love

Best Supporting Actor
Sponsored by Sanderson & St Martins Lane
Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up

Most Promising Newcomer
Sponsored by Studiocanal
Chloe Pirrie – Shell

Best Achievement In Production
Sponsored by Company3
Metro Manila

Best Technical Achievement
Sponsored by LightBrigade Media
Amy Hubbard – Casting – The Selfish Giant

Best Documentary
Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer

Best British Short
Supported by BFI NET.WORK

Best International Independent Film
Blue is the Warmest Colour

The Raindance Award
Sponsored by Wentworth Media and Arts
The Machine

The Richard Harris Award
Julie Walters

The Variety Award
Paul Greengrass

The Special Jury Prize
Sixteen Films & Friends (AKA Team Loach)

Source: http://www.screendaily.com/news/metro-manila-wins-top-bifa/5064466.article?blocktitle=LATEST-FILM-NEWS&contentID=40562