27 July 2016

TIFF 2016 Special Presentations Protagonist Premieres

By otm

Eleanor Coppola’s feature film debut Paris Can Wait, the romantic comedy starring Diane Lane and Alec Baldwin will have its World Premiere at the Toronto Film Festival this coming September as part of the SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS line-up. 

Also taking its World bow at the festival will be Pete Travis’ London-set noir thriller City of Tiny Lights with Riz Ahmed (Nightcrawler, Jason Bourne, Star Wars Rogue One) and Adam Smith’s Michael Fassbender/Brendan Gleeson-teamer Trespass Against Us.

Toronto festival-goers will also have the opportunity to catch Andrea Arnold’s Cannes Jury Prize Winner American Honey as it plays to a North American audience for the first time.

A full list of the SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS line-up as follows:

  • The Age Of Shadows (S Kor) Kim Jee woon WP
  • All I See Is You (Thai) Marc Forster WP
  • American Honey (US) Andrea Arnold NAP
  • American Pastoral (US) Ewan McGregor WP
  • Asura: The City Of Madness (S Kor) Kim Sung-soo WP
  • Barakah Meets Barakah (S Ara) Mahmoud Sabbagh NAP
  • Barry (US) Vikram Gandhi WP
  • Birth Of The Dragon (US-Chi-Can) George Nolfi WP
  • The Birth Of A Nation (US) Nate Parker IP
  • Bleed For This (US) Ben Younger CP
  • Blue Jay (US) Alex Lehmann WP
  • Brimstone (Neth-Ger-Fra-Bel-Swe-UK) Martin Koolhoven NAP
  • Brotherhood (UK) Noel Clarke IP
  • Carrie Pilby (US) Susan Johnson WP
  • Catfight (US) Onur Tukel WP
  • City Of Tiny Lights (UK) Pete Travis WP
  • The Commune (Den-Swe-Neth) Thomas Vinterberg NAP
  • Daguerrotype (Fra-Jap-Bel) Kiyoshi Kurosawa WP
  • A Death In The Gunj (Ind) Konkona Sensharma WP
  • Denial (US-UK) Mick Jackson WP
  • Elle (France) Paul Verhoeven NAP
  • Foreign Body (Tun-Fra) Raja Amari WP
  • Frantz (Fra-Ger) François Ozon CP
  • The Handmaiden (S Kor) Park Chan-wook NAP
  • Harmonium (Jap-Fra) Kôji Fukada NAP
  • I Am Not Madame Bovary (Chi) Feng Xiaogang WP
  • The Journey (UK) Nick Hamm NAP
  • King Of The Dancehall (US-Jam) Nick Cannon WP
  • La La Land (US) Damien Chazelle CP
  • The Limehouse Golem (UK) Juan Carlos Medina WP
  • Manchester By The Sea (US) Kenneth Lonergan CP
  • Mascots (US) Christopher Guest WP
  • Maudie (Can-Ire) Aisling Walsh WP
  • Neruda (Chi-Arg-Spa-Fra) Pablo Larraín CP
  • Nocturnal Animals (US-UK) Tom Ford NAP
  • The Oath (Ice) Baltasar Kormákur WP
  • Orphan (Fra) Arnaud des Pallières WP
  • Paris Can Wait (US) Eleanor Coppola WP
  • Paterson (US) Jim Jarmusch NAP
  • The Salesman (Iran-Fra) Asghar Farhadi NAP
  • Salt And Fire (Ger-US-Fra-Mex) Werner Herzog NAP
  • Sing (US-Fra) Garth Jennings WP
  • Souvenir (Bel-Lux-Fra) Bavo Defurne NAP
  • Things To Come (Fra-Ger) Mia Hansen-Løve CP
  • Toni Erdmann (Ger) Maren Ade CP
  • Trespass Against Us (UK) Adam Smith WP
  • Una (UK) Benedict Andrews CP
  • Unless (Can-Ire) Alan Gilsenan WP
  • The Wasted Times (Chi) Cheng Er WP